Broadway/Hollywood 2on1Broadway In Rhythm / Hollywood In Rhythm

  1. Oklahoma!
  2. People Will Say We're In Love
  3. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
  4. Oh, What A Beautiful Mornin'
  5. Hello Young Lovers
  6. Getting To Know You / I Whistle A Happy Tune
  7. On The Street Where You Live
  8. I Could Have Danced All Night / I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  9. A Wonderful Guy
  10. Bali Ha'i
  11. Younger Than Springtime
  12. Some Enchanted Evening
  13. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
  14. Thanks For The Memory
  15. Easy To Love
  16. Pacific Sunset
  17. Cheek To Cheek
  18. My Heart Stood Still
  19. Please
  20. Love Letters
  21. Laura
  22. Stella By Starlight
  23. Yesterdays
  24. It Might As Well Be Spring

This is the fourth Ray Conniff 2-on-1 CD from the U.K. It was released in 2000 (Columbia 497602 2). The sound quality is not as good as is on the CDs from the United States. The chorus is barely audible on several tracks.

For the original LP liner notes, see Broadway In Rhythm and Hollywood In Rhythm.

CD liner notes:

As the 1950s turned into the 1960s the popularity of Ray Conniff's music was increasing world-wide. Following the launch of the 'Conniff Sound', a unique blend of instruments and voices, in 1956, Ray had applied his brilliant arranging skill to many fine standards from The Great American Songbook. It was only a matter of time before he looked in the direction of Broadway for its many wonderful show tunes and to Hollywood for songs associated with the silver screen. Record buyers couldn't get enough of Ray's happy, tuneful music performed by top flight musicians and singers and each new Conniff long playing album was proving a major event in the music business. The Broadway and Hollywood LPs were to prove hugely popular with this adoring public.

For the Broadway collection, Ray selected 75% of the music from the rich repertoire of Richard Rogers and Oscar Hammerstein. Drawing on the scores for three great musicals, Oklahoma, The King And I and South Pacific, maestro Conniff found melodies perfectly suited to his creative arranging for a big band and chorus of mixed voices. Right from the start of this handsome set of familiar tunes the toe-tapping numbers are alive with flair and vitality. People Will Say We're In Love is outstanding while Oh What A Beautiful Mornin', is notable for some particularly inspired scoring especially during a fascinating passage where Ray employs a catchy counter melody. The balance of the Broadway collection is made up of songs penned by Allan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe for the smash hit show My Fair Lady. On The Street Where You Live, in the infectious Conniff version, was adopted by BBC radio personality David Jacobs as the signature tune for his long running Saturday morning record show in the 1960s.

Hollywood In Rhythm is the perfect partner for the Broadway album. For this set Ray Conniff took a wider view in selecting music. from The Great American Songbook. Several more of the leading popular composers are represented, among them Johnny Mercer, Jerome Kern and Irving Berlin with the exception of Pacific Sunset, a Conniff original, the chosen songs are well-known standards.

The freshness and imagination that hallmarked Ray Conniff's earlier albums continues to flourish in this thoroughly entertaining collection that brings together some of the most memorable popular music of the 20th century on one CD. The impeccable musicianship of the orchestra and singers comes across as vibrantly as it did on the original release nearly 40 years ago. Wonderful tunes, brilliantly arranged and performed is the perfect recipe for easy listening music of the highest calibre.

Brian Belton, The Record Centre, Birmingham

Back | Home