Turn Around Look At Me / I Love How You Love MeTurn Around Look At Me / I Love How You Love Me

  1. Mrs. Robinson
  2. Angel Of The Morning
  3. This Guy's In Love With You
  4. Do You Know The Way To San Jose
  5. People
  6. It Was A Very Good Year
  7. Turn Around Look At Me
  8. Macarthur Park
  9. Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  10. The Good,The Bad And The Ugly
  11. Moon River
  12. Those Were The Days
  13. My Special Angel
  14. Harper Valley P.T.A.
  15. I Love How You Love Me
  16. Hold Me Tight
  17. Wichita Lineman
  18. Hey Jude
  19. Sunny
  20. Little Green Apples
  21. Scarborough Fair / Canticle
  22. Abraham, Martin And John

This 2-on-1 CD was released on February 19, 2002 (Collectables COL-CD-7458 / Sony A-53866). Tracks 1-11 recorded July 1-3, 1968 and released in 1968 on Columbia CS9712; tracks 12-22 recorded December 9-11, 1968 and released in 1969 on Columbia CS9777.

There is a major flaw worth noting on this reissue: the first four seconds of "Hold Me Tight" is missing. This compact disc includes a recent biography of Ray, original liner notes, and session dates. Album credits were omitted but have been reproduced in red below:

From Turn Around Look At Me:

Arranged and conducted by Ray Conniff
The recording sessions for this album were supervised and produced by Jack Gold
The sound was supervised by Bob Ballard
Engineering: Jack Lattig
Cover photo: Frank Bez

Although this album primarily features The Singers singing the words, there are two songs which feature the orchestra and chorus instrumentally.
Ray plays trombone on one of these, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, and he also features "Skeets" Herfurt on the amplified flute, as well as some exciting timpani work by Bernie Mattinson (stereo left), and Wally Snow (stereo right).
The album was recorded in Hollywood on 8-track machines with no overdubbing.
The instrumentation was: 13 men singers, 12 girl singers, 3 trombones, 3 trumpets, 6 guitars, 2 pianos (organ double), 2 percussionists, string bass, electric Fender bass guitar, rhythm drums, amplified flute (doubling amplified clarinet) and solo trombone by Ray.

Other recent Ray Conniff albums include: "Somewhere My Love," "This Is My Song," "The Hawaiian Album," "It Must Be Him" and "Honey."
Ray's photo and the cover photo were taken by Frank Bez.

From I Love How You Love Me:

Arranged and Conducted by Ray Conniff
The Recording Sessions for This Album Were Supervised and Produced by Jack Gold
The Sound Was Supervised by Bob Ballard
Engineering: Jack Lattig
Cover photo: Frank Bez

"This is truly one of Ray Conniff's greatest albums!" That is a true statement. And yet... that same statement can be made, with equal veracity, about any album Ray Conniff has already recorded, or will release in the future.
Ray Conniff is consistent. He is constantly great. He has the unique ability to continue the famous "Conniff Sound" in every record he releases... and yet have each recording be as new and fresh as tomorrow. It takes the remarkable talent of a man like Conniff to create a unique "sound"... and then to inject it with new life with every record he makes.
This is what makes the Conniff Sound so remarkable. Not only does one look forward with undisguised anticipation to each new Conniff record, but his great albums of the past may be played time and time again... and with each playing take on new meaning.
This, his latest album, is no exception. Ray has included some of the latest contemporary tunes; the songs themselves will someday cease to be contemporary. But the Conniff renditions are certain to become classics. When Ray Conniff records a song... it's his.
If this is your first Ray Conniff album you are doubly fortunate; not only are you in for the most delightful listening experience of your life... you can "discover" Ray's other recent albums like: "Turn Around Look at Me," "Honey" and "It Must Be Him." You can also find out why the Conniff Sound became so famous by listening to his earlier Columbia albums: " 'S Wonderful," " 'S Marvelous," " 'S Awful Nice" and "Concert In Rhythm."
Ray Conniff fans, new and old; sit back, listen, and... enjoy! — Tom Riley

Back | Home